Feature Story Default Image

Search underway for next vice president for Commonwealth Campuses at Penn State

A search committee has been named for the position, with plans to find candidates as soon as possible

JUNE 16, 2023

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — Penn State has launched a national search for its next vice president for Commonwealth Campuses and executive chancellor. As the leader of the University’s 20 Commonwealth Campuses, this role will report directly to the executive vice president and provost of Penn State and work with deans, chancellors, faculty and staff University-wide.  

The selection process will be led by a search committee comprised of faculty, staff and students from across Penn State’s Commonwealth Campuses and will be chaired by Renata S. Engel, vice provost for Online Education. The search is already underway with the goal of selecting top candidates as soon as possible. The full search committee includes: 

  • Kathleen Bieschke, vice provost for Faculty Affairs 

  • Ron W. Darbeau, chancellor and dean of Penn State Altoona 

  • Penny Carlson, assistant vice president and executive director for Academic Services and Assessment 

  • Andrea Dowhower, interim vice president for Student Affairs 

  • Maria Catalina, undergraduate student at Penn State Fayette, the Eberly Campus, and University Faculty Senate student senator 

  • Michele Duffey, associate teaching professor of kinesiology and director of the Kinesiology Physical Activity Program (KPAP) 

  • Lorraine Craven, director of student affairs at Penn State Greater Allegheny 

  • Renata S. Engel (chair), vice provost for Online Education 

  • Michael Evans, assistant dean for undergraduate nursing education at the Commonwealth Campuses 

  • Roderick Lee, associate professor of information systems at Penn State Harrisburg

  • Laura Guertin, distinguished professor of Earth sciences at Penn State Brandywine 

  • Matt Melvin, vice president for Enrollment Management  

  • Ken Hall, assistant vice president for University Development

  • Julio L Palma Anda, associate professor of chemistry at Penn State Fayette 

  • Alexa Hodge, coordinator of student support services and the Aspiring Scholars Program at Penn State Berks 

  • Alice Puzarowski, proposal and award generalist, grants and contracts at Penn State Behrend 

  • John Hoh, senior director for information technology at Penn State Harrisburg 

  • Tina Q. Richardson, chancellor at Penn State Lehigh Valley 

  • Michael Stefan, assistant vice president for state relations, Government and Community Relations

  • Carlos Rodriquez, associate vice president for finance and business services, Commonwealth Campuses

  • Larry Terry, vice president for Outreach 

  • Elizabeth Wright, chancellor and associate professor of English and academic affairs at Penn State Hazleton 

  • Richard T. Roush, dean of the College of Agricultural Sciences 

  • Kevin Snider, chancellor at Penn State New Kensington

The vice president for Commonwealth Campuses and executive chancellor provides administrative leadership for Penn State’s 20 campuses across Pennsylvania. These campuses annually enroll around 25,000 students in associate, bachelor’s and graduate degree programs, along with 5,000 students who are enrolled in World Campus academic programs. This position is also tasked with overseeing strategic and faculty recruitment and retention, and the integration of diversity, equity, inclusion and belonging across the Commonwealth Campuses.  

In May, Kelly Austin, previously the vice president for Commonwealth Campuses and executive chancellor, announced his departure beginning in July. David Callejo Pérez, previously the associate vice president and senior associate dean for academic programs for the Commonwealth Campuses, was named interim in Austin’s stead. 

To apply for this position, interested candidates should submit a cover letter, curriculum vitae and contact information for four references via the University’s employment website. To nominate a candidate, or to ask questions, contact Renata Engel, [email protected], chair of the search committee. Applications received by July 12, will receive full consideration, and review of applications will continue until the position is filled.